Dovizioso is Inducted Into MotoGP Hall of Fame

Italian Andrea Dovizioso was inducted into the MotoGP Hall of Fame at Mugello at the Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley.

This is a press release from MotoGP…

Andrea Dovizioso is now officially a MotoGP Legend! The 2004 125ccc World Champion and three-time MotoGP runner up was inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley on Thursday as Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta presented the Italian with his MotoGP Legend Medal. The Autodromo Internazionale del Mugello provided the perfect backdrop as a venue Dovizioso has reigned in MotoGP, and there was a packed house present for the ceremony.

Dovizioso won the 125cc World Championship in 2004, moved up to become a consistent challenger in the 250 class and then made his MotoGP debut in 2008, taking his first premier class podium as a rookie. The following season Dovizioso took his first premier class win and until his departure from Honda at the end of 2011, was a consistent podium threat. His next season saw him debut with Yamaha Tech3, where he again took a number of rostrums, before a move to the Ducati factory team for 2013 saw the two begin a long journey to the top.

In 2014 Dovizioso garnered two podiums, in 2015 five and in 2016 another five—including a history-making win in the Malaysian Grand Prix, his first since 2009. That kicked off a renaissance of incredible frontrunning form as Dovizioso was Championship runner-up in 2017, 2018 and 2019, taking 12 wins across just three seasons. His final win came in his final season with Ducati at the 2020 Austrian Grand Prix.

After a brief break from racing, Dovizioso got back on track in the latter part of 2021 as an Independent Team rider with Yamaha before retiring after Misano in 2022. His final hurrah saw the paddock come out to applaud both the achievements and class of a key figure in the modern era—and protagonist of some of the sport’s best duels!

Now, Dovizioso joins a list of MotoGP Legends that includes Valentino Rossi, Giacomo Agostini, Hugh Anderson, Kork Ballington, Max Biaggi, Alex Crivillé, Mick Doohan, Stefan Dörflinger, Geoff Duke, Wayne Gardner, Mike Hailwood, Nicky Hayden, Jorge Lorenzo, Daijiro Kato, Eddie Lawson, Marco Lucchinelli, Randy Mamola, Anton Mang, Jorge ‘Aspar’ Martinez, Angel Nieto, Dani Pedrosa, Wayne Rainey, Phil Read, Jim Redman, Kenny Roberts, Kenny Roberts Jr, Jarno Saarinen, Kevin Schwantz, Barry Sheene, Marco Simoncelli, Freddie Spencer, Casey Stoner, John Surtees, Luigi Taveri, Carlo Ubbiali and Franco Uncini.


Click here for all the latest MotoGP news.


Full Story »

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments